About Us

About the Workshop Staff 

Janice Rhoshalle Littlejohn is a senior editor for Los Angeles Review of Books and Director of the Los Angeles Review of Books / USC Publishing Workshop. She has a master’s degree in Fiction from the University of Southern California, and a B.A. in Communications from Loyola Marymount University. Her first script, Those People: A Love Story, was selected by the DreamAgo 2016 Plume & Pellicule international screenwriting atelier. She is a contributor to the James Gayles anthology, Reflections (Pochino Press, 2014), and co-author of Swirling: How to Date, Mate and Relate Mixing Race, Culture and Creed (Atria, 2012). Her work has appeared in the Associated Press, Los Angeles Times, USA Today, and Essence, among other publications. She is a Los Angeles Institute for the Humanities fellow.

Callie Siskel is the author of Arctic Revival, selected by Elizabeth Alexander for a 2014 Poetry Society of America Chapbook Fellowship. She has received fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and Sewanee Writers’ Conference. Her poems appear or are forthcoming in A Public Space, the Yale Review, Ninth Letter, Poetry Northwest, 32 Poems, and other journals. She lives in Los Angeles, where she is a Dornsife Doctoral Fellow in Creative Writing and Literature at the University of Southern California, and a poetry editor at the Los Angeles Review of Books.

Sarah LaBrie is a writer and librettist. She has been awarded fellowships and residencies from Yaddo, the Vermont Studio Center and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. Her fiction appears in The Literary Review, Epoch, Lucky Peach, Joyland and Encyclopedia Journal. Her writing for the Industry Opera’s Hopscotch was featured in the New Yorker, Wired and on NPR. dreams of the new world, a choral piece commissioned by the Los Angeles Master Chorale and developed with composer Ellen Reid will premiere at Walt Disney Concert Hall next year. She has written about books, technology and film for Literary Hub, Lenny Letter, the Verge, the LA Weekly, the Millions and the Los Angeles Review of Books. She was the editor for Outpost19, of the California Prose Directory 2016, a collection of the best writing about life in the Golden State published that year. She holds an MFA in Creative Writing from New York University and a BA in Comparative Literature and Literary Arts from Brown University.

Cody Sisco is the author of speculative fiction that straddles the divide between plausible and extraordinary. Tortured Echoes, his second novel, continues the cyberpunk alternate history series that began in Broken Mirror, which tells the story of Victor Eastmore’s journeys on Resonant Earth and beyond. He is a 2017 Los Angeles Review of Books / USC Publishing Workshop Fellow, and continues to serve the Workshop as Alumni Affairs Coordinator. Sisco is also co-organizer of the Los Angeles Writers Critique Group and the founder of Made in L.A. writers, an indie author co-op. His startup, BookSwell, provides readers with a calendar and newsletters about author appearances at bookstores and festivals in Los Angeles.

Katelyn Keating is a writer and editor. Her essays appear or are forthcoming in Crab Orchard ReviewFlywayLunch Ticket, and the anthology In Season: Stories of Discovery, Loss, Home, and Places in Between (UPF, 2018). Her critical thesis, “A Horizon of Dogs: Canids as Companions and Narrators in Contemporary Fiction,” was an Antioch University Library Research Award finalist. Her professional and personal experience in animal health and caretaking informs her writing, which often addresses human / animal interaction. In 2017 she served as editor in chief of Lunch Ticket, where she’d formerly edited the Diana Woods Memorial Award and the nonfiction section, and written as a staff blogger. She was a 2017 Los Angeles Review of Books / USC Publishing Workshop Fellow. She holds an MFA in creative writing from Antioch University Los Angeles and a BA in communication arts from Skidmore College. She’s at work on an essay collection and a novel.

Laurie Winer is a founding editor of The Los Angeles Review of Books. She has worked in publicity and as an assistant editor at Alfred A. Knopf, and has been a drama critic at The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. She was chief drama critic at The Los Angeles Times, where she also worked as an editor at the food section and at the magazine. She has been a features editor at Harper’s Bazaar and was west coast editor for AARP Magazine and for Self. She has published in many magazines, including The New Yorker and Oprah.

Tom Lutz is the author of And the Monkey Learned Nothing: Dispatches form a Life in Transit and Drinking Mare’s Milk on the Roof of the World: Wandering the Globe from Azerbaijan to Zanzibar, both published in 2016, and other books. He is the Founding Editor of The Los Angeles Review of Books and teaches at UCR.


The Los Angeles Review of Books (LARB) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that publishes vanguard literary and cultural arts reviews in the great tradition of independent magazine publishing. LARB publishes both in print and online, with readers in over 150 countries and all 50 states. These include our flagship online magazine, LAReviewofBooks.org, our signature print issue, the LARB Quarterly Journal; and the LARB Channel sites. Our community of writers, artists, journalists, and filmmakers are dedicated to publishing the best in cultural critique and review, utilizing the tools of a multimedia generation, including our digital and online magazine, video and audio podcasts, community events, social media, and more.


The University of Southern California


The University of Southern California is one of the world’s leading private research universities. An anchor institution in Los Angeles, a global center for arts, technology and international business, USC’s diverse curricular offerings provide extensive opportunities for interdisciplinary study, and collaboration with leading researchers in highly advanced learning environments. With a strong tradition of integrating liberal and professional education, USC fosters a vibrant culture of public service and encourages students to cross academic as well as geographic boundaries in their pursuit of knowledge.

Scholarships for the 2017 Workshop were provided by USC, Amazon Literary Partners, Black Mountain Institute at UNLV, the Germanacos Foundation, the Goldhirsh Foundation, and the readers of LARB, including Sasha Anawalt, Martin Brown, Carol J. Chihara, Guy Cnop, Mary Corey, Elizabeth Gleick, Jean Granoux, Paul Grellong, James P. Higgins, Donald Kelley, Katherine Kollar, Igor Kramberger, Dylan Landis, Julia Lupton, Marisa Matarazzo, Maile Meloy, Lynne Tillman, and Barbara and David Voron.