Program Team


Participants in 2017 learned from a broad selection of experts who specialize in various aspects of the publishing industry, including editors, art directors, book historians, literary agents, marketing professionals, published writers, web coders, developers, and digital innovators:

Janice Rhoshalle Littlejohn, Workshop Director

Callie Siskel, USC Relations Coordinator

Sarah LaBrie, Fellows Coordinator

Cody Sisco, Alumni Affairs

Katelyn Keating, Faculty

Laurie Winer, Faculty

Tom Lutz, Faculty

Lecturers *

Claudia BallardWilliam Morris Endeavor

Neelanjana Banerjee, Kaya Press

Paul Bass, Online Journalism Project

Colleen Dunn Bates, Prospect Park Books

Emily Bell, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Guy BennettOtis Books

Julie Buntin, Catapult

Paddy Calistro, Angel City Press

Elizabeth Khuri Chandler, Goodreads

Jaya Chatterjee, Yale University Press

Tyson Cornell, Rare Bird Lit

Brent Cunningham, Small Press Distribution

Pallavi Dhawan, POC United

Cory DoctorowBoing Boing, Electronic Frontier Foundation

Joe Donnelly, State & MainSLAKE, LA WeeklyNew Times, Bikini, Stick

Kim Dower, Kim from LA PR

Boris Dralyuk, Los Angeles Review of Books

Debra Eckerling, Social Media Examiner

Stephen ElliottThe Rumpus

Emily Firetog, LitHub

Kate Gale, Red Hen Press

Betsy Gleick, Algonquin Press

Joel Goldberg, Netflix

Samantha Gorman, Tender Claws, PRY

Christie Hefner, Playboy

Chris Heiser, Unnamed Press

Matt Hewes, independent app and web designer

Ashaki Jackson, Women Who Submit

Henry Jenkins, USC Annenberg School of Communication and Journalism and School of Cinematic Arts

Dennis Johnson, Melville House

Rachel KhongLucky Peach, Taste 

Jarett Kobek, author

Eric Lach, The New Yorker

Juliet LapidosLA Times

Edan LepuckiThe Millions

Brian Lipson, Intellectual Property Group

Albert Litewka, Macmillan, Time Warner Publishing, Baker & Taylor, Creative Domain

Tom LutzLos Angeles Review of Books

Francesca Mari, California Sunday MagazineNew York Review of Books, Texas Monthly

Tim McCarthy, Sinclair Printing

Erin Mooney, Amazon Publishing

Bonnie Nadell, Hill Nadell Literary Agency

Richard Nash, Cursor, Red Lemonade, Small Demons, Soft Skull Press

Laurie Ochoa, LA TimesLA Weekly, Gourmet 

Nancy Perloff, Getty Publications

Gary Price, Library Journal, Infodocket

Russell Quinn, book design

Kim Robinson, University of California Press

Luis J. Rodriguez, Tia Chucha Press, Los Angeles Poet Laureate

Melissa Seley, branding and development

Doree Shafrir, Buzzfeed, Gawker, Rolling Stone

Joshua Wolf Shenk, Black Mountain Institute at UNLV, Moth Radio Hour, New Republic, Washington Monthly, The Economist

David Shook, Phoneme Media

Marisa SiegelThe Rumpus

Bob Stein, Institute for the Future of the Book, The Voyager Company, The Criterion Collection

Lorin SteinThe Paris Review, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Jonathan Taplin, Annenberg Innovation Lab

Tamika Thompson, POC United

Matt Timmons, Insert Blanc Press

Lucian Tucker, web design, UCLA

Mia Tramz, TimeLIFE VR

Sarita Varma, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Karolina WaclawiakThe Believer, Buzzfeed

Elias Wondimu, Tsehai Publishers

Steve Wasserman, Heyday Books, LA Times Book ReviewLA Times Festival of Books, Yale University Press

Holly Watson, Holly Watson PR

Andrew Wessels, Les Figues Press

Erin Young, Dystel, Godrich & Bourret

Lindsay Preston Zappas, Carla (Contemporary Art Review Los Angeles)


*Lecturer roster from 2017; subject to addition or change based on scheduling.